It’s official – I’m a Peace Corps Volunteer!  After two months of intensive training, I was sworn in as a volunteer on Friday morning at the American Embassy, along with 80 other volunteers.

Unfortunately, my time with Internet access is very short now, as I head to my site later this morning (stopping to meet the region governor on my way there)!  I intended to write several posts yesterday when the training center was nearly empty and I was certain the Internet would be really fast.  But, per usual in Mali, things didn’t go as planned…the Internet went out yesterday morning and didn’t reconnect until early this morning, leaving me without posts to share!  My plan is to write frequently at site and post several updates when I return to Internet access in early October.

I hope you all have an enjoyable Labor Day!  Keep your eye on this space for more details about my service very soon.

Cheers,

Beth

