I’m back in Bamako!

As I mentioned in a recent post, I’m here for the Peace Corps “In-Service Training,” which will last about two weeks.  I’ve been told that the Internet at the training center is not working, so I may not be able to post more regularly than I normally do…but here’s hoping. 

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and that the coming weeks are filled with holiday spirit and celebrations.  Although I was far from home, my Thanksgiving was very nice!  I, and about 30 other volunteers, were hosted by the United States Ambassador to Mali at her home in Bamako. The evening was filled with traditional Thanksgiving cuisine (served up on United States seal-encrusted plates) and story-swapping about our villages.  After dinner, we all went out on the town and had a blast salsa dancing off part of our meals and celebrating the US American holiday in South/Central American style.

I had so many things to be thankful for this Thanksgiving day (and every day).  If my time in Mali teaches me nothing else – although it certainly will – this experience has been incredibly humbling and has helped me fully recognize and appreciate all with which I have been blessed.  During this holiday season, I encourage you to stop and reflect on this, as well.  Be thankful for the family and friends you will be celebrating with, for the gifts and food you will be exchanging and for the opportunities you have, simply because you were born in a place where opportunities are plentiful.

I hope to be in touch again very soon.  Until then…Happy Holidays!

