On October 30, a new group of trainees will come to Mali to prepare for two years of service as Peace Corps Volunteers.  I’m excited to be working with the Peace Corps staff and several other volunteers to prepare for their arrival!  During their training period, I will be working specifically with the Small Enterprise Development Volunteers to help them gain the technical, language and cultural skills they’ll need to excel as volunteers in Mali.

I’m really looking forward to this experience, as I remember quite well how challenging those first few months in country can be and how important the training time is in creating a foundation for a successful service.  I hope that being a trainer will enable me to look back on my time as a trainee and realize how far I, and my training class, have come throughout the past 15 months.  It’s hard to believe how fleeting our time is here.

Because I will be training the new group, I’ll have pretty regular Internet access at the Peace Corps training center from mid-October until early November and from late November until early January.  I hope to take advantage of this time to update my blog more regularly and keep in touch via e-mail and Skype, as well.

I hope you all are enjoying Fall and that October is off to a great start.  Until mid-October, I’m signing off.  Cheers!

